H

History

Transat Québec Saint-Malo from 1984 to 2012

 

General History

In 1984, on the occasion of the 450th anniversary of the 1534 arrival in the Gulf of St. Lawrence of Jacques Cartier, the renowned sailor from Saint-Malo, the first Transat Québec Saint-Malo race is held.

Every four years since, it brings together the best professional oceangoing multihull and monohull racers for an epic crossing from Quebec City to Saint-Malo.

A major classic among the offshore races, the Transat Québec Saint-Malo is the oldest nonstop, trans-Atlantic, crewed race sailed from west to east.

The Voyage

The boats and their skippers travel a 2,897-nautical mile (5,365-kilometre) route.

Starting from Quebec City, at the foot of Cap Diamant, they first speed along the St. Lawrence River, a 400-nautical mile stretch requiring skill and tactics, given that the river has its own unique quirks. It is narrow, dotted here-and-there with islands and shoals. Skippers can also see each other, unlike in the rest of the offshore race. Cunning and strategy will be needed.

The river portion includes marker buoys. These buoys become races within the race, because prize money is awarded to the first boats that pass them.

Next comes the wide, open ocean. The ocean stretches out before the racers, and the sporting challenge begins. The nonstop crossing of the North Atlantic, to the battlements of the port city of Saint-Malo.

1984, The Year It All Starts

The beginning of the 1980s is synonymous with extraordinary creative energy. After the victories of Olympus Photo (Mike Birch’s little yellow 11.50 m sailboat) in the 1978 Route du Rhum, and that of the American, Phil Weld, in the OSTAR race aboard the trimaran Moxie, in 1980, it is clear that the future of offshore racing will be decided by more than one hull. Racing goes pro with sponsor money, and an “arms race” begins, between catamarans larger than 20 metres. The boats on the starting line in Québec City on August 19, 1984, for the Transat TAG provide a magnificent snapshot of a mechanical sport in the grip of continuous change. It is one of the finest competitive line-ups ever to gather for an offshore race. It is also a battle of architects and technicians at a time of great discovery. Of the 36 multihulls registered, 10 of them exceed 20 metres in length: every catamaran, with the exception of Eugène Riguidel’s trimaran, the William Saurin (at 25.90 m). Incidentally, many of these large multihulls are developed especially to contest this race. Crossing the Atlantic at full speed, one single atmospheric depression is enough to take the big cats to Saint-Malo, where Caradec finishes barely 16 minutes ahead of Pierre Follenfant, after only 8 days of racing.

1988, The Year of Jet Services V and the End of the Big Cats

The Transat Carlsberg race takes place in a distinctly less euphoric atmosphere than its previous edition. Only 13 multihull and six monohull boats take part in the race. Faced with sponsors cool to growing costs, the Fédération internationale de la course océanique (FICO) decides to limit the maximum boat length to 22.80 m. In 1990, new regulations would set it at 18.28 m. The era of big catamarans ends abruptly. Victory is nevertheless tarnished by those who assert that the big boats inevitably go faster. With the same team, Madec would defend his reputation in grand style by improving on his own record for the Atlantic crossing, in 6 days, 13 hours, 3 minutes, a record that would only be beaten in 2001 by Steve Fossett. The Transat takes a dramatic turn on September 1, when Olivier Moussy falls overboard 150 miles west of the Isles of Scilly. The 31-year-old skipper of the trimaran Laiterie Mont Saint-Michel is swept away by a wave, while working on a float. The man nicknamed “The Saint-Bernard of the Seas” for having saved the lives of sailors Pierre Follenfant in 1979, and Ian Johnson in 1982, would never be found. That same day, Florence Arthaud’s Groupe Pierre 1er capsizes, and its crew is recovered by helicopter.

From 1992 to 2004, The Golden Age of the 60-Foot Trimarans

With International class rules that set the length of multihulls at 18.28 m (60 ft.) for more than 15 years, offshore racing experiences a period of stability which favours its development. In 1997, the founding of ORMA (the Ocean Racing Multihull Association) establishes a calendar that alternates Grand Prix harbour racing and trans-Atlantic races. From 1990 until the turning point of 2006 and 2007, ORMA becomes an offshore racing laboratory, an environment in a state of perpetual technological excitement. Fifteen years of technical research and reflection on 60-foot platforms would make these racing machines the most successful in the history of offshore racing.

1992

The 3rd edition of the Transat Québec Saint-Malo race in 1992 marks the arrival of a particularly talented young generation. On Primagaz, designed by Van Pétéghem-Lauriot Prévost, a young, Swiss phenomenon by the name of Laurent Bourgnon builds himself quite a reputation. Spectator boats moored in the anchorage at Lévis would remember the white trimaran sailing, without hesitation, into the middle of the astounded flotilla, for a long time. The tone was set. In answer to that challenge, another VPLP-designed boat with a gleaming, artfully-decorated hull, Florence Arthaud’s Groupe Pierre 1er: In 1990, the 33-year-old sailor was the first woman to win a major ocean-going regatta. Her victory in the Route du Rhum race makes her a star. The young Swiss sailor, who would win the Rhum race himself in 1994 and 1998, would beat her by less than two hours to Saint-Malo.

1996

1996’s 4th edition of the race makes history when Loïck Peyron, on Fujicolor II, shaves an hour off Serge Madec’s time and secures a record time for the voyage, a record which has not been beaten since. Peyron, who has just won the English Transat race, has to face two boats wrecked by capsizes in the same race a few weeks earlier.

2000

The 5th edition in 2000 crowns a young 27-year-old Franck Cammas, who would remain king of ORMA for a number of years, aboard Groupama. To increase their stability, the new trimarans are now as wide as they are long, to within a few centimetres. Marc Guillemot, an ex-crewmate of Mike Birch’s, succeeded his old boss on board a brand-new Biscuits La Trinitaine. Birch nevertheless comes to the starting line on board a 50-foot trimaran, owned by the head of Fujifilm France. Guillemot quickly takes the lead in the race, sailing southward to find the winds as he leaves the gulf. He has a 280-mile lead when an anticyclone offshore of Ireland blocks his way and reshuffles the cards. Behind him, the fleet is unleashed. Yvan Bourgnon on Bayer en France (ex-Primagaz first launched in 1990) has an incredible 624-mile day, with an average speed of 26 knots. No ORMA multihull has since sailed as fast. The six 60-foot trimarans find themselves neck-and-neck at Fastnet Rock, and all cross the finish line at Saint-Malo within 1 hour, 30 minutes of each other. It’s the closest finish in the entire history of the race.

2004

With 12 ORMA multihulls together again in the Bassin Louise, the 6th edition in 2004 would be one to remember, with a perfect line-up reuniting the big names in offshore racing. Hard to predict at the time that the class would collapse three years later. The multihulls of this last generation would have much larger cockpits – equipped with coffee grinders – very much better-adapted to crewed sailing.

2008, l’arrivée des Class40 : changement de génération

The mothballing of the ORMA racing machines, too costly for the sponsors, changes the face of offshore racing completely. The better-equipped teams throw themselves into competition for the Jules Verne trophy, while ORMA dreams up a new series of 70-foot monotype trimarans, the Multi One Design. The 50-foot multihulls, existing in the shadow of their big brothers, see a chance to shine, and the Transat Québec Saint-Malo race is a great showcase. There are six crews at the starting line, but Franck-Yves Escoffier and Yves le Blévec’s Crêpe Wahoo!, the only new boat in the fleet, wins the race without any real opposition.

But for the 7th edition, the real star in Quebec City is the brand-new Class40, developed with extreme speed, and generating tremendous excitement. This new category of monohulls welcomes amateurs and professionals, and the International class rules limit the “arms race,” which prevents an escalation of costs. Eighteen Class40s have their first starts in Quebec City. Veteran sailor Halvard Mabire removes all doubt, aboard a last-generation Pogo 40. During the race, Pogo Structure has a record-setting day of 346 miles in 24 hours, with an average speed of 14 knots. Immense disappointment for Éric Tabardel and Damien de Pas who are dismasted in June, during their first week of sailing. Bleu, their beautiful Class40 boat, built in Montreal, loses its maiden race. For his part, Georges Leblanc starts with an optimized MacGregor 65, but Port de Québec takes on water offshore of Newfoundland, and must turn back. The two skippers from Quebec would incidentally, be back on the starting line on July 22, alongside 22 other crews from Quebec and Europe.

2012

The 2012 edition is marked by Halvard Mabire’s incredible turn aboard Campagne de France, and by the very high standard in this Class40, which contributed greatly to the success of this 8th edition of the Transat Québec Saint-Malo race. With 25 entrants, 20 of which are Class40, standards are, without doubt, clear for all to see!

 

From Québec City to Saint-Malo by way of La Malbaie, Rimouski, Matane, Sainte-Anne-des-Monts, Gaspé, Percé and, of course, Saint-Pierre et Miquelon, the 6 villes, 6 bouées race would enable sailors to share the first part of their race with the public. An experience which they greatly appreciated!

 

In the Open class, FenêtréA Cardinal 3 belonging to Frenchman Erwan Leroux has an amazing race, taking just 9 days and 14 hours to finish, which also wins him the honour of being the very first across the finish line. The winners of this 2012 edition in Class40, Halvard Mabire and Miranda Merron on Campagne de France, would themselves travel 3,024 nautical miles in 11 days and 17 hours, and their closest rival, Jörg Riechers on Mare, would cross the finish line less than 1 hour and 30 minutes behind them. A near-perfect journey, all the better for making an impression at Saint-Malo!

Source : Michel Sacco – L’Escale Nautique

Photos: Pierre Therrien
Photo 2012: Pierre Bourras

Palmarès

Host cities

Public and tourism partners

Host venue

An event by

  • Voile Internationale Québec

Brought to you by

© Gestev Transat Québec St-Malo 2017

Created by Libéo

H

Historique

Transat Québec Saint-Malo de 1984 à 2016

Ce fut en 1984, à l’occasion du 450e anniversaire du premier voyage de Jacques Cartier, navigateur de Saint-Malo, dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent en 1534, qu’a eu lieu la première Transat Québec Saint-Malo.

Depuis, elle réunit tous les quatre ans les meilleurs coureurs océaniques professionnels de voiliers multicoques et monocoques pour une traversée épique de Québec à Saint-Malo.

Grande classique parmi les courses de voile hauturière, la Transat Québec Saint-Malo est la plus ancienne course transatlantique sans escale en équipage à être disputée d’ouest en est.

Parcours

C’est un itinéraire de 2 897 milles nautiques ou de 5 365 kilomètres que parcourent les bateaux et leurs skippers.

Au départ de Québec, au pied du cap Diamant, ils s’élancent d’abord sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent, un tronçon de 400 milles nautiques qui exige habileté et tactique, car le fleuve a ses particularités. Il est étroit, parsemé de quelques îles et de haut-fonds. Les skippers peuvent aussi s’apercevoir entre-eux, contrairement à la véritable course au large. Ruse et stratégie sont au rendez-vous.

La portion fluviale compte des bouées de passage. Ces bouées deviennent des courses dans la course, car des bourses sont offertes aux premiers bateaux qui les franchissent.

Vient ensuite le large, l’immensité océane. La mer s’étend et le challenge sportif commence. La traversée de l’Atlantique Nord en express jusqu’aux remparts de la ville corsaire de Saint-Malo.

1984, l’année de tous les commencements

Le début des années 1980 est synonyme d’une extraordinaire fièvre créatrice. Après les victoires d’Olympus Photo, la petite araignée jaune de 11,50 m de Mike Birch dans la Route du Rhum en 1978, puis celle de l’Américain Phil Weld dans l’Ostar en 1980 à bord du trimaran Moxie, la preuve est faite que l’avenir de la course au large se jouera sur plusieurs coques. La course se professionnalise avec l’argent des commanditaires et l’heure est à la course à l’armement de grands catamarans de plus de 20 mètres. Les bateaux sur la ligne de départ de la Transat TAG à Québec le 19 août 1984 représentent un magnifique instantané d’un sport mécanique en pleine évolution. C’est l’un des plus beaux plateaux de concurrents jamais réunis dans une course océanique et c’est aussi une bataille d’architectes et de techniciens en pleine période exploratoire. Sur les 36 multicoques inscrits, dix dépassent les 20 mètres de long, tous des catamarans à l’exception du trimaran William Saurin (25,90 m) d’Eugène Riguidel. Plusieurs de ces grands multicoques ont d’ailleurs été mis en chantier spécialement pour disputer la course. Les grands catas traversent l’Atlantique à toute vitesse, une seule dépression suffira à les mener à Saint-Malo où Caradec devance Pierre Follenfant d’à peine 16 minutes après seulement huit jours de course.

1988, l’année de Jet Services V et la fin des grands catas

La Transat Carlsberg se tient dans une atmosphère nettement moins euphorique que l’édition précédente. On n’y retrouve plus que treize multicoques et six monocoques. Devant des commanditaires refroidis par l’escalade des coûts, la Fédération internationale de la course océanique a décidé de limiter la longueur maximum des bateaux à 22,80 m. En 1990, le nouveau règlement la fixera à 18,28 m. L’ère des grands catamarans prend fin de manière abrupte.  La victoire est cependant ternie par ceux qui font valoir que les grands bateaux vont forcément plus vite. Avec la même équipe, Madec défendra sa réputation de fort belle manière en améliorant son propre record de la traversée de l’Atlantique en 6 j 13 h 03 m, un record qui ne sera battu qu’en 2001 par Steve Fossett. La Transat tourne au drame le 1er septembre lorsque Olivier Moussy passe par dessus bord à 150 milles à l’ouest des îles Scilly. Le skipper de 31 ans du trimaran Laiterie Mont Saint-Michel est emporté par une lame alors qu’il travaillait sur un flotteur. On ne retrouvera jamais celui qu’on avait surnommé le saint-bernard des mers pour avoir sauvé de la mort les navigateurs Pierre Follenfant en 1979 et Ian Johnston en 1982. Le même jour, Groupe Pierre 1er de Florence Arthaud chavire, l’équipage est récupéré par un hélicoptère.

De 1992 à 2004, l’âge d’or des trimarans de 60 pieds

 

Avec des règles de jauge qui fixent la longueur des multicoques à 18,28 m (60’) pendant plus de quinze ans, la course au large connaît une période de stabilité qui va favoriser son développement. En 1997, la mise sur pied de l’ORMA (Ocean Racing Multihull Association) met en place un calendrier qui fait alterner grands prix en rade et courses transatlantiques. De 1990 jusqu’au tournant des années 2006 et 2007, l’ORMA devient un laboratoire de la course au large, un milieu en perpétuelle ébullition technologique. Quinze années de recherche et de réflexion technique sur ces plateformes de 60 pieds en feront les machines de course les plus abouties de toute l’histoire de la course au large.

1992

La 3e édition de la Transat Québec Saint-Malo en 1992 marque l’arrivée d’une jeune génération particulièrement talentueuse. Sur Primagaz, un plan Van Pétéghem-Lauriot Prévost, un jeune phénomène suisse répondant au nom de Laurent Bourgnon est en train de se construire toute une réputation. Les bateaux spectateurs au mouillage à Lévis se rappelleront longtemps de ce trimaran blanc qui n’hésite pas à venir empanner au milieu de la flottille éberluée. Le ton était donné. Pour lui offrir la réplique, un autre plan VPLP à la coque rutilante et savamment décorée, Groupe Pierre 1er de Florence Arthaud. En 1990, la navigatrice de 33 ans a été la première femme à remporter une grande régate océanique. Sa victoire dans la Route du Rhum en fait une vedette. Le jeune Suisse qui gagnera le Rhum à son tour en 1994 et 1998 la devance de moins de 2 heures à Saint-Malo.

1996

La 4e édition de 1996 entre dans l’histoire lorsque Loïck Peyron sur Fujicolor II retranche une heure au temps de Serge Madec et décroche le record du parcours, un record qui n’a jamais été battu par la suite. Peyron qui vient de remporter la Transat anglaise fait face à deux bateaux amochés par des chavirages dans la même course quelques semaines plus tôt.

2000

La 5e édition en 2000 couronne un jeune Franck Cammas âgé de 27 ans qui va devenir le roi de l’ORMA pendant plusieurs années à bord de Groupama. Pour augmenter leur stabilité, les nouveaux trimarans sont maintenant aussi larges que longs, à quelques centimètres près. Marc Guillemot, un ex-équipier de Mike Birch a succédé à son ancien patron à bord d’un Biscuits La Trinitaine tout neuf. Ce dernier s’aligne néanmoins au départ à bord d’un trimaran de 50 pieds, propriété du patron de Fujifilm France. Guillemot prend rapidement la tête de la course en se décalant au sud pour aller chercher du vent à sa sortie du golfe. Il compte 280 milles d’avance lorsqu’un anticyclone au large de l’Irlande lui bloque la route et redistribue toutes les cartes. Derrière lui, la flotte est déchaînée. Yvan Bourgnon sur Bayer en France (ex-Primagaz initialement mis à l’eau en 1990) signe une journée époustouflante de 624 milles à 26 nœuds de moyenne. Aucun multicoque de ORMA n’est jamais encore allé aussi vite. Les six trimarans de 60 pieds se retrouvent au coude à coude au Fastnet et tous franchissent la ligne à Saint-Malo dans un intervalle de 1h 30. Il s’agit du résultat le plus serré de toute l’histoire de la course.

2004

Avec douze multicoques ORMA réunis dans le bassin Louise, la 6e édition en 2004 restera gravée dans toutes les mémoires. Un plateau de rêve qui réunit les ténors de la course au large. Difficile de prévoir à l’époque que la classe allait s’effondrer trois ans plus tard. Les multicoques de cette ultime génération montrent des cockpit beaucoup plus vastes – et équipés de moulins à café – bien mieux adaptés à la navigation en équipage.

2008, l’arrivée des Class40 : changement de génération

La mise au rencart des machines du circuit de l’ORMA qui coûtent trop cher aux commanditaires bouleverse complètement le visage de la course au large. Les écuries les mieux dotées se lancent à la conquête du trophée Jules Vernes pendant que l’ORMA imagine une nouvelle série de trimarans monotypes de 70 pieds, la Multi One Design. Les multicoques de 50 pieds qui vivaient dans l’ombre de leurs grands frères y voient une opportunité pour prendre leur envol et la Transat Québec Saint-Malo leur offre une belle tribune. Ils sont donc six équipages au départ, mais le Crêpe Wahoo! de Franck-Yves Escoffier et Yves le Blévec, seul bateau récent de la flotte, survole la course sans véritable opposition.

 

Mais la véritable vedette à Québec pour la 7e édition, c’est la toute nouvelle Class40 qui connaît un développement extrêmement rapide et suscite un engouement extraordinaire. Cette nouvelle catégorie de monocoques accueille amateurs et professionnels et les règles de jauge permettent de limiter la course à l’armement pour prévenir l’escalade des coûts. Ils sont 18 au départ pour leur première présence à Québec. C’est le vétéran Halvard Mabire qui enlève le débat à bord d’un Pogo 40 de dernière génération. Pogo Structure se paye au passage une journée record de 346 milles en 24 h à 14 nœuds de moyenne. Immense déception pour Éric Tabardel et Damien de Pas qui démâtent au mois de juin lors de leur première semaine de navigation. Bleu leur joli Class40 construit à Montréal rate son premier rendez-vous. Quant à lui, Georges Leblanc prend le départ avec un MacGregor 65 optimisé, mais Port de Québec accuse une voie d’eau au large de Terre-Neuve et doit rebrousser chemin. Les deux skippers québécois seront d’ailleurs de retour à la ligne de départ le 22 juillet en compagnie de 22 autres équipages venus du Québec et de l’Europe.

2012

L’édition 2012 restera marquée par l’incroyable doublé d’Halvard Mabire sur Campagne de France et le niveau très élevé dans cette Class40 qui a largement contribué au succès de cette 8e édition de la Transat Québec Saint-Malo. Avec 25 engagés dont 20 Class40, le niveau était nul doute au rendez-vous !

 

De Québec à Saint-Malo en passant par La Malbaie, Rimouski, Matane, Sainte-Anne-des-Monts, Gaspé et Percé et, bien entendu, Saint-Pierre et Miquelon, le circuit 6 villes, 6 bouées aura permis aux marins de partager leur course avec le grand public pour la première partie de leur périple. Une expérience qu’ils ont d’ailleurs grandement appréciée !

 

En classe Open, le FenêtréA Cardinal 3 du Français Erwan Leroux signe un parcours époustouflant en seulement 9 jours et 14 heures, lui remettant ainsi les honneurs de franchir la ligne d’arrivée en tout premier. Les gagnants de cette édition 2012 en Class40, Halvard Mabire et Miranda Merron sur Campagne de France auront de leur côté parcouru 3024 milles nautiques en 11 jours et 17h, tandis que son plus proche poursuivant, Jörg Riechers sur Mare, a franchi la ligne d’arrivée moins de 1h30 après. Une trajectoire quasi parfaite, tout du moins idéale pour s’imposer à Saint-Malo !

Source : Michel Sacco – L’Escale Nautique

Photos: Pierre Terrien
Photo 2012: Pierre Bourras

Palmarès

Villes hôtes

Partenaires publics et touristiques

Site hôte

Un événement de

  • Voile Internationale Québec

Produit par

© Gestev Transat Québec St-Malo

Réalisé par Libéo