C

The Transat Québec Saint-Malo (TQSM) is the oldest west-to-east, nonstop, trans-Atlantic, crewed race. Every four years since 1984, oceangoing racers speed along the St. Lawrence River between Québec City and Lévis, to meet the challenge of sailing its hazards, currents and tides, cross the North Atlantic and avoid icebergs, to finally enter the English Channel in dense maritime traffic and strong currents.

Let us tell you about Transat Québec Saint-Malo’s history

Want to participate?

9th Edition

In 1984, on the occasion of the 450th anniversary of the arrival of Jacques Cartier, the renowned sailor from Saint-Malo, and of the founding of the city of Québec, the Transat Québec Saint-Malo race is created. Nine editions later, it still highlights the connections and heritage between France and the province of Québec, between the city of Québec and the city of Saint-Malo. In keeping with the evolution of the classes, the boats, and of the race as a whole, this 9th edition will provide the Ultimate class with a new challenge. The start of boats in the Ultimate class may be shifted back a few days, to allow for a pursuit race or a record attempt, whose parameters will be determined by the organizer.

2,897 nautical miles

The distance is almost 3,000 nautical miles (5,365 kilometres, 1 n.m. = 1.85 km), of which 376 n.m. are sailed in the St. Lawrence River.

Multihulled boats will have a different race to sail than the monohulls. Being faster, and in order to have fleets finish in their groups, in addition to passing the 4 race markers on the St. Lawrence, multihulls will have to round the Îles-de-la-Madeleine and Fastnet Rock (south of Ireland) before finishing at Saint-Malo.

Monohulls will pass the 4 race markers in the St. Lawrence, and round Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon before undertaking the Atlantic crossing and making their way into Saint-Malo.

7 days, 20 hours, 24 minutes

In 1996, the race record was set, on Fujicolor II, helmed by Loïck Peyron. This has remained the time to beat for 20 years. Note that, in 2004, Karine Fauconnier, on Sergio Tacchini, missed the record by 36 minutes (7 days, 21 hours). To be continued in 2016…

The Start

The shores of Québec City and Lévis provide a spectacular vantage point for the start of the offshore race. No other such race offers this kind of natural opportunity to see boats and their crews up close. During the first day of the race, the public will be able to follow the sailboats, moving along the length of the river’s shoreline to follow their progress.

Monohull
IMOCA 60

International Monohull Open Class Association, or IMOCA, identifies 60-foot, monohulled boats for which the flagship race is the Vendée Globe, solo around-the-world race.

CLASS40 40

Class of monohulled offshore racers whose overall length is 40 feet. This class includes the greatest number (more than 130) of boats.

OPEN 45+

All other monohulled boats whose overall length is 45 feet and over. This class allows registration of any monohulled boat that meets offshore racing regulations.

Multihull
Ultimate class 70+

For the purposes of the Transat Québec Saint-Malo race, the Notice of Race defines this class as including boats whose overall length is more than 70 feet, with no upper limit.

MULTI50 50

Class of offshore multihull racer whose overall length is 50 feet.

OPEN 39-70

All other multihulled boats whose overall length is at least 39 feet, and less than 70 feet.

Regulation

Host cities

Public and tourism partners

Host venue

An event by

  • Voile Internationale Québec

Brought to you by

© Gestev Transat Québec St-Malo 2017

Created by Libéo

C

La Transat Québec Saint-Malo (TQSM) est la plus ancienne course hauturière d’ouest en est, sans escale et en équipage. À tous les quatre ans depuis 1984, les coureurs océaniques s’élancent sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent, entre Québec et Lévis, pour relever les défis de la navigation du Saint-Laurent et de ses pièges, courants et marées, traverser l’Atlantique par le nord et éviter les icebergs et finalement entrer en Manche à travers le trafic maritime intense et les forts courants.

 

DÉPART DES ULTIMES 13 JUILLET

Suveillez nos médias sociaux pour connaître l’heure précise qui sera décidée pour le départ des Ultimes.

Parcours de la course

 

9e édition

C’est en 1984, à l’occasion du 450e anniversaire de l’arrivée de Jacques Cartier, grand navigateur malouin, et de la fondation de la ville de Québec, que la Transat Québec Saint-Malo a été créée. Elle souligne encore, neuf éditions plus tard, les liens et héritages entre la France et le Québec, entre la ville de Québec et la ville de Saint-Malo. En fonction de l’évolution des classes, des bateaux et de la course au large, cette 9e édition propose un nouveau défi à la classe Ultime. Le moment du départ des multicoques de la Classe Ultime pourra être décalé de quelques jours pour donner lieu à une course poursuite ou à une tentative de record, dont les mesures seront déterminées par l’organisateur.

2897 milles nautiques

Le parcours compte près de 3000 milles nautiques (5 365 kilomètres, 1 mn = 1, 85 km), dont quelque 376 mn sont parcourus dans le Saint-Laurent.

Les multicoques ont un parcours différent des monocoques. Étant plus rapides et afin d’avoir une arrivée de flotte groupée, ils devront, en plus des 4 marques de passage sur le Saint-Laurent, contourner les Îles-de-la-Madeleine et le rocher du Fastnet au sud de l’Irlande, avant d’entrer à Saint-Malo.

Pour les monocoques, ils franchiront les 4 marques de passages du Saint-Laurent ainsi que Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon avant d’entreprendre la traversée de l’Atlantique et faire leur entré sur Saint-Malo.

7 j 20 h 24 min

C’est en 1996 que le record du parcours a été établi sur Fujicolor II barré par Loïck Peyron. Cela  demeure le temps à battre depuis 20 ans. À noter qu’en 2004, Karine Fauconnier sur Sergio Tacchini avait raté le record de 36 min (7 j 21 h). À suivre en 2016…

Le départ

Les rives de Québec et Lévis offrent un point de vue spectaculaire pour un départ de course au large. Aucune autre course hauturière ne propose un amphithéâtre naturel permettant une aussi grande proximité avec les bateaux et leurs équipages. Durant toute la première journée de course, le public peut suivre les voiliers en se déplaçant le long des rives du fleuve et suivre leur progression.

Monocoques
IMOCA 60

L’International Monohull Open Class Association ou IMOCA désigne les monocoques de 60 pi dont la course phrase est le Vendée Globe, course autour du monde en solitaire.

CLASS40 40

Classe de monocoque hauturier de course dont la LHT est de 40 pi. C’est la classe qui dénombre le plus grand nombre (plus de 130) de bateaux construits.

OPEN 45+

Tout autre monocoque dont la LHT est de 45 pi et plus. Cette classe permet l’inscription de tout bateau monocoque qui répond aux normes de course hauturière.

Multicoques
Classe Ultime 70+

Dans le cadre de la Transat Québec Saint-Malo, l’avis de course définit cette classe par les bateaux dont la longueur hors tout (LHT) est de plus de 70 pi, sans limite supérieure.

MULTI50 50

Classe de multicoque hauturier de course dont la LHT est de 50 pi.

OPEN 39-70

Tout autre multicoque dont la LHT est comprise entre 39 pi et moins de 70pi.

Règlements

Villes hôtes

Partenaires publics et touristiques

Site hôte

Un événement de

  • Voile Internationale Québec

Produit par

© Gestev Transat Québec St-Malo

Réalisé par Libéo